English

The province of Liège owes its international renown above all to its primary asset, the people of Liège.
Thanks to their feats and their energy, they continue to make our province shine abroad and are the pride of the entire region. The field of cycling is in no way an exception. 

Philippe Gilbert au Grand Départ du Tour de France 2012 à Liège

August BAUMANS

Originally from Montegnée, Auguste BAUMANS, born 26 October 1902 finished unclassified in the 1928 Tour de France.

André BLAISE

Boon 10 January 1888, André BLAISE, a citizen of Soumagne, finished 8th in the final general classification during his second participation in the 1910 Tour de France. He previously withdrew from his first Tour in 1909. In 1911, he again had to withdraw in the third stage. In 1912 and 1914, he would withdraw twice in the fourth stage.

Joseph BORGUET

Joseph BORGUET was born in Saive (Blegny) on 16 April 1951. During his only two participations in the Tour de France, he finished 43rd in 1979. In the same edition, he came 2nd in the 12th stage. In 1980, he finished 52nd in the final general classification.

Christophe BRANDT

Born in Liège on 6 May 1977, Christophe BRANDT joined the Tour de France in 2002, wearing the Lotto-Adecco team colours, coming in at a respectable 35th place. In 2003 and 2005, he would finish in 52nd and 56th place respectively. In 2006, he ranked 40th in Paris. In 2004 and 2008, he withdrew from the 7th and 19th stages respectively.

Jean BRANKART

Born on 12 July 1930, Jean BRANKART, a citizen of Momalle, turned pro on 26 April 1953. A year later, he took part in the Tour de France for the first time, finishing 9th in the final general classification. He posted his best result in 1955. In fact, winning two stage victories (18th in Pau and 21st at the Tours time trial), he finished on the second podium step just behind Louison Bobet. To this day, he still holds the best result from the people of Liège in the Tour de France. In 1956 and 1959, he would finish in 39th and 10th place respectively. 1958 and 1960 were less notable as he was forced to withdraw.

Jean BREUER

Jean Breuer was born in Magnée on 14 December 1919. The first time he took part in the Tour de France, in 1947, he finished 45th in the general classification. Unfortunately, two years later, he was forced to withdraw during the 4th stage of the 1949 Tour de France.

Joseph BRUYERE

The solid Joseph BRUYERE appeared in 1970, a luxury team-mate for a certain Eddy Merckx. Born on 5 October 1948 in Maastricht, Joseph Bruyère later moved to Saint-Remy, near Blegny. It was in the Faemino team colours, led by Eddy Merckx, that he first took part in the Tour de France in 1970. In 1971, now in the Molteni team colours but still alongside Eddy, he finished 60th on the Tour. In 1972, he achieved the amazing feat of finishing 26th in general and took 19th place in the Auxerre-Versailles stage. In 1974, Bruyère wore the yellow jersey for 3 days and finished 21st in the final. In 1977, he changed team and raced in the FIAT colours but withdrew in the 22nd stage. In 1978, when Eddy Merckx called an end to his career, Joseph Bruyère became leader and wore the yellow jersey for 8 days. The same year, he logged a breath-taking time in the Puy-de-Dôme, ranked 3rd, 55 seconds behind Zoetemelk and 45 seconds ahead of Bernard Hinault. Joseph Bruyère rejoined Paris and finished 4th, behind Hinault.

André CASTERMAN

André CASTERMAN, born in Milmort on 20 April 1899, withdrew in the 4th stage of the 1926 Tour de France.

Jacques COOMANS

Born in Magnée on 13 November 1888, Jacques COOMANS was at the start line of 7 editions of the Tour de France. A non-start in 1920 and forced to withdraw in 1913, 1921 and 1925, he nonetheless ranked in the top 10 twice. In 1912, he finished 5th and in 1919 took 6th place in the final general classification. In 1914, he finished the Tour in an honourable 19th place.

Hubert DELTOUR

Hubert Deltour, born in Wandre on 23 March 1911, tried his luck on the Tour de France in 1937. He didn't take part in the 17th stage and wasn't ranked in the general classification.

Henri DEVROYE

Henri DEVROYE, from Jemeppe-sur-Meuse, born on 21 October 1884, gave a great performance, finishing 10th the very first time he took part in the Tour in 1911. The following year was just as successful, if not better, when he was ranked 8th in the general classification. His last participation in the Tour, in 1913, was marked by his withdrawal during the 7th stage.

André DOYEN

André DOYEN, born on 29 March 1949 in Fize-Fontaine, raced as a pro from 1970 to 1976. In 1973, alongside his team, he won the team time trial in the 2nd stage. Sadly he withdrew in the 8th stage. In 1975, he finished 69th in the general classification.

Christian DUMONT

Born in Esneux on 2 February 1956, André DUMONT arrived over the time limit of the 2nd stage of the 1979 Tour de France.

Marcel DUPONT

Marcel DUPONT, from Jupille-sur-Meuse, born on 20 October 1917, took part in the Tour de France for the first time in 1949, coming 20th in the final.
For his second Tour, he stood out and impressed the Belgians by taking an impressive 5th place, behind only Coppi, Bartali, Marinelli and Robic.

Dieudonné GAUTHY

Born in Pepinster on 19 May 1893, Dieudonné GAUTHY took part in the 1914 edition of the Tour de France. He was forced to withdraw in the 3rd stage.

Philippe GILBERT

Originally from Remouchamps, Philippe GILBERT was born on 5 July 1982. He began cycling professionally in 2003.
He took part in the Tour de France five times. In 2005, on his first time on the Tour, he was ranked 70th in the general classification in Paris. In 2006, he finished 110th; in 2007, weakened by a virus, he was forced to withdraw in the 15th stage. In 2008, he came 2nd in the first stage in Plumelec and finished 112th in the final general classification. In 2009, he didn't take part in the Tour de France but instead in the Giro, where he won the 20th long stage of 203 km between Naples and Agnani.
In 2010, he did not take part in the Tour de France but instead in La Vuelta. He won the 1st and 19th stage. He also wore the red leader's jersey for 5 days. He finished the year in 3rd place in the UCI classification.
In 2011, for his 5th time taking part in the Tour de France, he won the 1st stage and wore the yellow jersey for one day. He finished 2nd in the 5th and 8th stages. It was undoubtedly his best Tour de France, ranking in the top 15 of 9 stages to finish 38th in the general classification in Paris. He also wore the green jersey and the polka-dot jersey.
In 2012, Philippe finished 46th, taking 62nd place at his 7th participation in 2013.

Georges GOFFIN

Georges Goffin was born on 1 April 1883 in Ben-Ahin, near Huy. He started in many important stage races, including the Tour de France. He took part in the Tour de France in 1904, 1910, 1911, 1914 and 1922. But he was forced to withdraw each time.

Henri HANLET

Henri HANLET, born on 11 September 1888 in Xhendelesse, took part in the 1912, 1913 and 1922 editions of the Tour de France. In 1912, he withdrew during the 12th stage. The two other times he took part he was forced to withdraw in the 4th stage.

Jules HENDRICKX

Jules Hendrickx, born 9 September 1899, finished outside the classification in the 1928 Tour de France.

Guy JANISZEWSKI

Born 24 January 1959 in Milmort (Herstal), Guy JANISZEWSKI started in the 1982 Tour de France, in which he finished 101st, and in 1983, when he ranked 77th.

Dieudonné JAMAR

Dieudonné JAMAR, born 6 November 1878 in Hozémont, started in the 1904 Tour de France but had to withdraw during the first stage. Pro from 1901 to 1911, he became the Belgian Champion in 1905.

Albert JORDENS

Born in Liège on 24 February 1902, Albert JORDENS took part in the Tour de France four times. When he participated for the first time, in 1925, he withdrew during the 8th stage. During the 1928 edition, he was also forced to withdraw in the 20th stage. However, in the 1927 and 1929 editions, he finished respectively in 23rd place of the general classification and in an honourable 10th place.

Marcel KERFF

Marcel KERFF was born on 2 June 1886 in Fouron-Saint-Martin. He took part in the first edition of the Tour de France in 1903 and finished 6th in the general classification.

Léon KOPP

Léon KOPP, from Dalhem, born on 27 April 1886, took part in the 1919 and 1920 editions of the Tour de France. He withdrew during the 1st stage during his first attempt and during the 4th stage the following year.

Georges LALOUP

Georges LALOUP, born 24 May 1913 in Amay, took part in three editions of the Tour de France in 1929, 1930 and 1931. He finished in 25th and 19th place respectively, and withdrew during the 6th stage on his 3rd attempt.

Georges LEMAIRE

Originally from Pepinster, Georges LEMAIRE was born on 30 April 1905. His career was marked by, amongst other things, his two participations in the Tour de France. He finished 15th in 1932 and 4th in 1933. He was able during this last Tour to wear the yellow jersey for 3 days.

Henri LINTZEN

Born in Andrimont on 5 December 1896, Henri LINTZEN withdrew during the 1st stage of the 1927 Tour de France.

Emile LOMBARD

A professional from 1904 to 1906, Emile LOMBARD started in the 1904 Tour de France. He ranked 8th in the 1st stage, 6th in the 2nd stage and ranked 4th in the provisional general classification. He withdrew during the 3rd stage. Many of his adversaries were disqualified after the race and he was awarded 1st place of the provisional general classification for the 2nd stage.

Emile MASSON Senior

Born in Morialmé in the municipality of Florennes (Namur) on 16 October 1888, Emile MASSON and his parents emigrated to Sainte-Walburge, in the upper part of Liège. In terms of awards, he took part in 8 editions of the Tour de France. He was forced to withdraw the first time he took part, in 1913, and again in 1919, 1921 and 1924. But his other performances were noteworthy, particularly his 5th place in the final general classification of the 1920 Tour. Ranking a little under 3 hours behind winner Philippe Thys, a Belgian compatriot from the capital, he wore the yellow jersey for 4 days. In 1922, he won the 11th and 12th stage and ranked 12th in the final general classification. In 1925 and 1938, he finished the race and was ranked 22nd and 34th respectively, winning the 20th stage.

Emile MASSON Junior

Born in Bierset on 1 September 1915, Emile MASSON Junior, winner of the Flèche Wallonne in 1938 and Paris-Roubaix in 1939, finished in 34th place of the general classification of the 1938 Tour de France, after winning the 1st stage.

Ernest MOTTARD

Originally from Hollogne-aux-Pierres, Ernest MOTTARD, born 22 March 1902, finished unranked in the 1930 Tour de France. 

Hubert MULLER

Originally from Seraing, Hubert MULLER, born 20 June 1914, finished in a respectable 11th place in the general classification of the 1937 Tour de France.

François NEUVILLE

François NEUVILLE was born on 24 November 1912 in Mons-Crotteux, near Grâce-Hollogne. The first time he took part, in 1935, was marked by his withdrawal during the 9th stage. The following year he ranked 19th in the final general classification. Winner of the 20th stage of the 1938 Tour, he finished 17th in the final. The last time he took part, in 1939, he finished 27th in the general classification.

Daniel PLUMMER

Born in Bastogne on 2 January 1957, this adopted Liégeois, who raced in the colours of various Liège clubs and who now lives in Retinne (Fléron), notably finished the 1980 tour de France in 27th place and as the 3rd best young rider.

Sébastien ROSSELER

Born in Verviers on 15 July 1981, Sébastien ROSSELER has been a professional racer since 2004. He has taken part in the Tour de France three times. Never forced to withdraw, he was ranked 104th in 2007, 98th in 2008 and 104th in 2009.

Jean ROSSIUS

Originally from Cerexhe-Heuseux, Jean ROSSIUS, born on 27 December 1890, took part in the Grand Boucle six times. He was forced to withdraw in 1913, 1919 and 1921. However, he ranked 4th in 1914, 7th in 1920 and 9th in 1922 in the final general classification. Three memorable achievements, as he won the 2nd and 9th stage and was leader for 4 days during the 1914 edition. In 1919, he won the 1st stage, despite later withdrawing in the 3rd stage. He also wore the yellow jersey for 2 days in 1920. The same year, he won the 7th and 15th stage.

Fernand SAIVE

Fernand SAIVE, born in Dison on 24 May 1900, finished in 32nd place of the general classification of the 20th edition of the Tour de France, in 1926.

Laurent SERET

Laurent SERET, born in Hollogne-aux-Pierres on 11 June 1896, took part in the 1923 Tour de France but was forced to withdraw in the 2nd stage.

Marc SOHET

Originally from Vinalmont, Marc SOHET, born on 15 June 1947, he ranked 68th in the general classification of the 1972 edition of the Tour de France.

Rik VERBRUGGHE

Rik VERBURGGHE was born in Hélécine on 23 July 1974. After living in Chaudfontaine for some years, he started in the Tour de France on various occasions. He withdrew 5 out of 9 times. The 2001 Tour de France was incontestably his finest result. It was in this race that he achieved his greatest feat, winning the 15th stage between Pau and Lavaur. In 2001, he also received the title of best Belgian and Walloon cyclist of the year, as well as the prize for “Best Athlete from the Province of Liège”.

René WENDELS

René WENDELS, born in Liège in 1883, began his professional career in 1921, finishing in 1928. He took part in the 1922 Tour de France but withdrew in the 6th stage. Two years later, in 1924, he finished 27th in the general classification. In 1925, he was forced to withdraw in the 3rd stage. His last participation in the Tour, in 1928, was marked by his withdrawal during the 16th stage.

Tadeusz WIERUCKI

Originally from Poland but born in La Brouck-Trooz on 23 December 1934, Tadeusz WIERUCKI, finished unranked in the 1959 and 1960 editions of the Tour de France.

Joseph WIRINGER

Joseph WIRINGER from Liège took part in the 1910 Tour de France. Unfortunately, he withdrew during the 10th stage. 

Michael WRIGHT

Originally from England, Michael WRIGHT, born in Bishop Statford on 25 March 1941, this naturalized Belgian and Liège resident took part in the Tour de France eight times. He came 56th and 24th in the 1964 and 1965 editions respectively. Nonetheless he won the 20th stage between Lyon and Auxerre in 1965. Unfortunately, in 1967 he withdrew despite a stage win. The two following years he came 28th and 71st respectively. In 1972, he finished 55th in the general classification. The last two times he took part, in 1973 and 1974, he finished in 57th place and won the 10th stage between Nice and Aubagne during the 1973 edition

La province de Liège doit tout d’abord sa renommée au niveau international à son maître atout : les Liégeois.

Grâce à leurs exploits et à leur dynamisme, ils ont fait, font et feront briller notre province à l’étranger mais font aussi la fierté de tout un territoire. Le domaine du cyclisme n’est certainement pas en reste. 

Philippe Gilbert au Grand Départ du Tour de France 2012 à Liège

Nombreux sont ceux que l’on peut citer :

Auguste BAUMANS
Originaire de Montegnée, Auguste BAUMANS, né le 26 octobre 1902 termina non-classé du Tour de France 1928.

André BLAISE
Né le 10 janvier 1888, André BLAISE, citoyen de Soumagne se classa 8e au classement général fi nal pour sa deuxième participation au Tour de France en 1910. Il avait abandonné en 1909 lors de son premier Tour. En 1911, il dut abandonner lors de la 3e étape. En 1912 et en 1914, il abandonna, les deux fois, lors de la 4e étape.

Joseph BORGUET
Joseph BORGUET est né à Saive (Blegny) le 16 avril 1951. Lors de ces deux seules participations au Tour de France, il termina 43e en 1979. Il décrocha dans cette édition, la 2e place de la 12e étape. En 1980, il fi nit à la 52e place du classement général final.

Christophe BRANDT
Né à Liège le 6 mai 1977, Christophe BRANDT a fait son entrée sur le Tour de France en 2002 sous les couleurs de l’équipe Lotto-Adecco et se classa à une honorable 35e place. En 2003 et en 2005, il termina respectivement à la 52e place et à la 56e place. En 2006, il s’est classé 40e à Paris. En 2004 et 2008, il abandonna respectivement lors de la 7e étape et la 19e étape.

Jean BRANKART
Né le 12 juillet 1930, Jean BRANKART, citoyen de Momalle passa professionnel le 26 avril 1953. Un an plus tard, il participa pour la première fois au Tour de France et se classa 9e au classement général fi nal. En 1955, il réalisa son meilleur résultat. En effet, en remportant 2 victoires d’étapes (18e à Pau et 21e à Tours courue contre la montre), il termina sur la deuxième marche du podium juste derrière Louison Bobet. Il détient, encore à ce jour, la meilleure performance d’un Liégeois dans le Tour de France. En 1956 et en 1959, il se classa respectivement à la 39e et à la 10e place. L’année 1958 et l’année 1960 sont à oublier puisqu’il fut contraint à l’abandon.

Jean BREUER
Jean BREUER, né à Magnée, le 14 décembre 1919. Pour sa première participation au Tour de France en 1947, il termina 45e du classement général. Malheureusement, deux ans plus tard, il fut contraint à l’abandon lors de la 4e étape du Tour de France 1949.

Joseph BRUYERE
Dès 1970, apparaît le solide Joseph BRUYERE, un équipier de luxe pour un certain Eddy Merckx. Né le 5 octobre 1948 à Maastricht, Joseph Bruyère s’installa à Saint-Remy, près de Blegny. C’est sous les couleurs de l’équipe Faemino, emmenée par Eddy Merckx, qu’il participa à son premier Tour de France en 1970. En 1971, désormais sous les couleurs de l’équipe Molteni, mais toujours aux côtés de Eddy, il termina 60e du Tour. En 1972, il réalisa un bel exploit puisqu’il se classa 26e du général et remporta la 19e étape courue entre Auxerre et Versailles. En 1974, Bruyère porta durant 3 jours le maillot jaune et termina 21e au fi nal. En 1977, il changea d’équipe et courut sous les couleurs FIAT mais abandonna lors de la 22e étape. En 1978, alors que Eddy Merckx mit fi n à sa carrière, Joseph Bruyère devient leader et porte le maillot jaune durant 8 jours. La même année, il réalisa un chrono époustoufl ant dans le Puy-de-Dôme, se classa 3e à 55 secondes de Zoetemelk et devança Bernard Hinault de 45 secondes. Joseph Bruyère rallia Paris et termine 4e derrière Hinault.

André CASTERMAN
André CASTERMAN, né à Milmort le 20 avril 1899, abandonna lors de la 4e étape au Tour de France de 1926.

Jacques COOMANS
Né à Magnée le 13 novembre 1888, Jacques COOMANS, prit le départ du Tour de France à 7 reprises. Non partant en 1920, contraint à l’abandon en 1913, 1921 et en 1925, il se classa tout de même deux fois dans le top 10. En 1912, il termina 7e et en 1919, il prit la 6e place du classement général fi nal. En 1914, Il acheva le Tour à une honorable 19e place.

Hubert DELTOUR
Hubert DELTOUR, né à Wandre, le 23 mars 1911 tenta sa chance au Tour de France de 1937. Il ne disputa pas la 17e étape et ne fut pas classé au classement général.

Henri DEVROYE
Le Jemeppien Henri DEVROYE, né le 21 octobre 1884, réalisa une belle performance puisqu’il termine 10e du Tour à l’occasion de sa toute première participation en 1911. L’année suivante est tout aussi fructueuse voire même meilleure. En effet, il se classa 8e du général. Sa dernière participation en 1913 fut marquée par un abandon à la 7e étape.

André DOYEN
André DOYEN, né le 29 mars 1949 à Fize-Fontaine, fut professionnel de 1970 à 1976. En 1973, il remporta, avec son équipe, le contre-lamontre par équipe lors de la 2e étape. Il abandonna, malheureusement lors de la 8e étape. En 1975, il termina à la 69e place du classement général.

Christian DUMONT
Né à Esneux, le 2 février 1956, André DUMONT, arriva hors délai lors de la 2e étape du Tour de France de 1979.

Marcel DUPONT
Le Jupillois, Marcel DUPONT, né le 20 octobre 1917, participa pour la première fois au Tour de France en 1949, il se classa 20e au final.
Pour son second Tour, il se distingua et émerveilla les Belges en décrochant une belle 5e place devancés par les seuls Coppi, Bartali, Marinelli et Robic.

Dieudonné GAUTHY
Né à Pepinster le 19 mai 1893, Dieudonné GAUTHY, a participé à l’édition du Tour de France de 1914. Il fut contraint à l’abandon lors de la 3e étape.

Philippe GILBERT
Remoucastrien d’origine, Philippe GILBERT est né le 5 juillet 1982. Il débute chez les professionnels en 2003.
Il a participé 5 fois au Tour de France. En 2005, pour sa première participation, il se classa 70e du classement général à Paris. En 2006, il termina 110e ; en 2007, diminué par un virus, il est contraint à l’abandon lors de la 15e étape. En 2008, il termine 2e de la première étape à Plumelec et fi nit à une 112e place au classement général fi nal. En 2009, il ne dispute pas le Tour de France mais bien le Giro où il remporta la 20e étape longue de 203 km entre Naples et Agnani.
En 2010, Il ne participe pas au Tour de France mais à la Vuelta. Il remporte la 1ère et la 19e étape. Il y a également porté le maillot rouge de leader durant 5 jours. Il termine l’année à la 3e place du classement U.C.I.
En 2011, pour sa 5e participation au Tour de France, il remporte la 1ère étape et endosse le maillot jaune pour une journée. Il termine également 2e des 5e et 8e étapes. Il s’agit, incontestablement, de son meilleur Tour de France en se classant dans le top 15 de 9 étapes pour terminer à la 38e place du classement général à Paris. Il a également porté le maillot vert et le maillot à pois.

En 2012, Philippe termine 46e tandis qu'il décrochera la 62ème place pour sa 7e participation en 2013.

Georges GOFFIN
Georges GOFFIN est né le 1er avril 1883 à Ben-Ahin près de Huy. Il prit le départ de plusieurs courses à étapes importantes dont le Tour de France. Il participa à ce dernier en 1904, en 1910, en 1911 en 1914 et en 1922. Mais il fut contraint à l’abandon à chaque participation.

Henri HANLET
Henri HANLET, né le 11 septembre 1888 à Xhendelesse, participa aux éditions de 1912, 1913 et 1922 du Tour de France. En 1912, il abandonna lors de la 12e étape. Pour ses deux autres participations, il fut contraint à l’abandon lors de la 4e étape.

Jules HENDRICKX
Jules HENDRICKX, né le 9 septembre 1899 termina non-classé du Tour de France 1928.

Guy JANISZEWSKI
Né le 24 janvier 1959 à Milmort (Herstal), Guy JANISZEWSKI prit le départ du Tour de France en 1982 où il termina 101e et en 1983 où là il se classa 77e.

Dieudonné JAMAR
Dieudonné JAMAR, né le 6 novembre 1878 à Hozémont prit le départ du Tour de France de 1904 mais du abandonner lors de la première étape. Professionnel de 1901 à 1911, il devint Champion de Belgique en 1905.

Albert JORDENS
Né à Liège le 24 février 1902, Albert JORDENS, participa 4 fois au Tour de France. En 1925, pour sa première participation, il abandonna lors de la 8e étape. Lors de l’édition de 1928, il fut également contraint à l’abandon lors de la 20e étape. Par contre, aux éditions de 1927 et 1929, il termina respectivement à la 23e place du classement général et à une honorable 10e place.

Marcel KERFF
Marcel KERFF est né le 2 juin 1886 à Fouron-Saint-Martin. Il participa à la première édition du Tour de France en 1903 et termina 6e au classement général.

Léon KOPP
Le Dalhemois, Léon KOPP, né le 27 avril 1886, participa aux éditions du Tour de France de 1919 et 1920. Il abandonna lors de la 1ère étape pour sa première tentative et lors de la 4e étape l’année suivante.

Georges LALOUP
Georges LALOUP, né le 24 mai 1913 à Amay, participa à trois éditions du Tour de France, en 1929, 1930 et 1931. Il termina respectivement à la 25e place, la 19e place et il abandonna lors de la 6e étape de sa troisième tentative.

Georges LEMAIRE
Originaire de Pepinster, Georges LEMAIRE est né le 30 avril 1905. Sa carrière fut marquée, entre autres, par ses 2 performances au Tour de France. En effet, il termina 15e du Tour en 1932 et 4e en 1933. Il eut l’occasion, lors de ce dernier Tour, de porter durant 3 jours, le maillot jaune.

Henri LINTZEN
Né à Andrimont, le 5 décembre 1896, Henri LINTZEN, abandonnera lors de la 1ère étape du Tour de France 1927.

Emile LOMBARD
Professionnel de 1904 à 1906, Emile LOMBARD prit le départ du Tour de France de 1904. Il se classa 8e de la première étape, 6e de la deuxième étape et prend la 4e place du classement général provisoire. Il abandonna lors de la 3e étape. Plusieurs de ses adversaires furent disqualifi és après course et la première place du classement général provisoire lui fut attribuée pour la deuxième étape.

Emile MASSON senior
Né à Morialmé sur l’entité de Florennes (Namur) le 16 octobre 1888, Emile MASSON et ses parents ont émigré sur les hauteurs de Liège à Sainte-Walburge plus précisément. Côté palmarès, il compte 8 participations au Tour de France. Il fut contraint à l’abandon en 1913 lors de sa première participation, en 1919, en 1921 et en 1924. En revanche, il faut noter ses autres prestations dont la plus belle fut sa 5e place au classement général fi nal du Tour 1920. Classé à un peu moins de 3h derrière le vainqueur Philippe Thys, un compatriote belge originaire de la Capitale, il porta durant 4 jours le maillot jaune. En 1922, il remporta la 11e ainsi que la 12e étape et se classa 12e du général fi nal. En 1925 et en 1938, il termina la course et se classa respectivement 22e et 34e en remportant la 20e étape.

Emile MASSON Junior
Né à Bierset, le 1er septembre 1915, Emile MASSON Junior, vainqueur de la Flèche Wallonne en 1938 et de Paris-Roubaix en 1939, termina à la 34e place du classement général du Tour de France 1938 après avoir remporté la 1ère étape.

Ernest MOTTARD
Originaire de Hollogne-aux-Pierres, Ernest MOTTARD, né le 22 mars 1902 termina non-classé du Tour de France 1930. 

Hubert MULLER
Originaire de Seraing, Hubert MULLER, né le 20 juin 1914 termina à une honorable 11e place au classement général du Tour de France 1937.

François NEUVILLE
François NEUVILLE est né le 24 novembre 1912 à Mons-Crotteux près de Grâce-Hollogne. Sa première participation en 1935 fut marquée par un abandon dans la 9e étape. L’année suivante, il se classa 19e au classement général final. Vainqueur de la 20e étape du Tour de 1938, il termina 17e au fi nal. Pour sa dernière participation en 1939, il finit 27e du général.

Daniel PLUMMER
Né à Bastogne le 2/1/1957, ce Liégeois d’adoption qui a couru sous les couleurs de différents clubs liégeois et qui est désormais installé à Retinne (Fléron) a notamment terminé le Tour de France 1980 à la 27e place et 3e meilleur jeune.

Sébastien ROSSELER
Né à Verviers le 15 juillet 1981, Sébastien ROSSELER est coureur professionnel depuis 2004. Il a participé trois fois au Tour de France. Jamais contraint à l’abandon, il s’est classé 104e en 2007, 98e en 2008 et 104e en 2009.

Jean ROSSIUS
Originaire de Cerexhe-Heuseux, Jean ROSSIUS, né le 27 décembre 1890, a participé à 6 reprises à la Grande Boucle. Il fut contraint à l’abandon en 1913, en 1919 et en 1921. Par contre, il se classa respectivement 4e en 1914, 7e en 1920 et 9e en 1922 du classement général final. Trois exploits mémorables puisqu’il a gagné la 2e et la 9e étape et a été aussi leader durant 4 jours l’édition de 1914. En 1919, malgré son abandon dans la 3e étape, il remporta la 1ère étape. Il eut également l’occasion de porter le maillot jaune pendant 2 jours en 1920. La même année, il fut vainqueur de la 7e et de la 15e étape.

Fernand SAIVE
Fernand SAIVE, né à Dison le 24 mai 1900 termina à la 32e place du classement général de la 20e édition du Tour de France, en 1926.

Laurent SERET
Laurent SERET, né à Hollogne-aux-Pierres le 11 juin 1896, participa au Tour de France de 1923 mais fut contraint à l’abandon lors de la 2e étape.

Marc SOHET
Originaire de Vinalmont, Marc SOHET, né le 15 juin 1947, il se classa 68e du classement général de l’édition du Tour de France de 1972.

Rik VERBRUGGHE
Rik VERBRUGGHE est né à Hélécine le 23 juillet 1974. Installé à Chaudfontaine depuis quelques années, il prit le départ du Tour de France à plusieurs reprises. On dénombre 5 abandons sur ses 9 participations. Le Tour de France 2001 reste sans conteste, son meilleur résultat. C’est celui dans lequel il réalisa son plus bel exploit en remportant la 15e étape Pau – Lavaur. En 2001, il reçut également le titre du meilleur cycliste belge et wallon de l’année ainsi que le prix du « Mérite sportif de la Province de Liège ».

René WENDELS
René WENDELS, né à Liège en 1883, entama sa carrière professionnelle en 1921 pour la terminer en 1928. Il participa au Tour de France de 1922 mais abandonna lors de la 6e étape. Deux ans plus tard, en 1924, il termina à la 27e place du classement général. En 1925, il fut contraint à l’abandon lors de la 3e étape. Sa dernière tentative, en 1928, fut marquée par un abandon lors de la 16e étape.

Tadeusz WIERUCKI
De nationalité Polonaise mais né à La Brouck-Trooz le 23 décembre 1934, Tadeusz WIERUCKI, termina non-classé des éditions de 1959 et 1960 du Tour de France.

Joseph WIRINGER
Le liégeois Joseph WIRINGER, participa au Tour de France de 1910. Malheureusement, il abandonna lors de la 10e étape. 

Michael WRIGHT
Originaire d’Angleterre, Michael WRIGHT, né à Bishop Statford le 25 mars 1941, naturalisé Belge et résident à Liège participa 8 fois au Tour de France. Il se classa respectivement 56e ,24e des éditions de 1964 et 1965. Il remporta néanmoins la 20e étape ralliant Lyon à Auxerre en 1965. Malheureusement, en 1967, il abandonna malgré une victoire d’étape. Les deux années suivantes il se classa respectivement 28e et 71e. En 1972, il termina à la 55e place du classement général. Lors de ses deux dernières participations, en 1973 et 1974, il termina à la 57e place et remporta la 10e étape entre Nice et Aubagne lors de l’édition 1973.

Français